School of Machinery and Automation


Position:homepage  About  overview

    The School of Machinery and Automation has a long history, which is the first to start undergraduate education at Wuhan University of Science and Technology. In 1952, Professor Hai Zhu, a famous Metallurgical Machinery expert in China, established the Department of Metallurgy and Machinery in the Central China Institute of Engineering. In 1960, the teachers and students of the Department of Metallurgy and Machinery of Central China Institute of Engineering were all transferred to the Wuhan Iron and Steel Institute. In 1958, the school began to recruit undergraduate students. And in 1981, it has been authorized as one of the first Master Degree Programs in China. In 2010, it has been awarded as First Level Doctorate Degree Program of Mechanical Engineering. In 2013, Department of Education of Hubei Province announced the school as one of the first 16 experimental reform undergraduate institutions.


    The school consists of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, the Department of Mechanical Studies, the Department of Mechatronic Engineering, the Department of Industrial Engineering, the Department of Measurement and Control Technology and Instrument, National Mechanical Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center and other teaching department, as well as the Office of International Exchange and Cooperation, the Office of General Affairs, the Office of Party Construction and Student Affairs, etc. Four types of bachelor degrees are bestowed on students majoring in Mechanical Engineering, Mechatronic Engineering, Industrial Engineering, and Measurement and Control Technology and Instrument respectively. Five pilot classes--National Excellent Engineer Education Program Pilot Class of Mechanical Engineering, Strategic Emerging Industry Talent Training Program Pilot Class of Mechatronic Engineering in Hubei Province, Lean Elite Training Program Pilot Class of Industrial Engineering at Wuhan University of Science and Technology, Genius Program Pilot Class of Mechanical Engineering at Wuhan University of Science and Technology, China-Australia International Cooperation Program on Mechanical Engineering Class --are established. The Mechanical Engineering is a nationally featured major, a national comprehensive reform pilot program. The teaching team of mechanical engineering is the National Teaching Team. Furthermore, Principle of Mechanics” and “Hydraulic Transmission” are National Excellent Courses and National Excellent Resource Shared Courses. The Mechanical Experimental Center is a National Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center. The Wuhan University of Science and Technology-Wuhan Marine Machinery Co., Ltd. Educational Practice Base is a Provincial Demonstration Internship Practice Base.


    The school has one mobile station for post-doctoral work for Mechanical Engineering, one provincial first level key discipline (Mechanical Engineering), one provincial first level featured discipline (Mechanical Engineering), first-class doctorate degree program of Mechanical Engineering, first-class master degree program of Mechanical Engineering, Master of Engineering Program of Mechanical Engineering and Industrial Engineering. Under first-class programs, second-class doctorate degree program and second-class master degree program of Industrial Engineering, as well as second-class doctorate degree program and second-class master degree program of Measurement and Control Technology and Instrument are founded. At the same time, the school has Key Laboratory of Ministry of Education for Metallurgical Equipment and Control, Provincial Key Laboratory of Mechanical Transmission & Manufacturing Engineering, and jointly 2011 National Collaborative Innovation Center of Steel Generic Technology, Hubei Collaborative Innovation Center of Intelligent Manufacturing Equipment, Hubei Engineering Research Center of Engineering Machinery Remanufacturing.


    There are 153 faculty members in the school, including 2 “Double Hired academicians, 1 “National Excellent Teacher”, 22 Chutian Scholars”, 1 part-time professor of Changjiang Scholars and 1 professor of Changjiang Young Scholars. Among the teachers, there are 19 doctoral supervisors, 42 professors, 45 associate professors and 28 part-time professors from industry. In recent years, four members have been honored by the “Baogang Educational Fund for Excellent Teachers”; and nine members have been entitled to receive “Special Government Subsidies”.


    In the past five years, more than 200 national, provincial and enterprise-based scientific research projects, including National Science and Technology Supporting Plan, National 863 Plan and National Natural Science Foundation of China have been undertaken, and more than 40 projects have won provincial science and technology progress award or provincial appraisal. Among them, the school has won the second prize of State Technological Innovation Award in 2013, the second prize of National Science and Technology Progress Award in 2010 and 2011, as well as the first prize of Hubei Technology Invention Award and Science and Technology Progress Award for 4 projects, the second prize for 5 projects in the past five years. The school has published more than 1,000 papers, including more than 200 ones accepted in three major indexes, and published more than 40 textbooks and reference books.


    The school attaches great importance to the international academic exchanges and cooperation. It has successively cooperated with Princeton University, University of Houston, Purdue University, Deakin University in Australia, Dresden University of Technology, University of Bath, University of Portsmouth, Nottingham Trent University, University of Ottawa in Canada, Kitami University of Technology in Japan, etc. Close ties are established to enable international exchanges of teachers and students, and scientific and technological cooperation.


    The school has 2448 undergraduate students, around 400 master students and 52 doctoral students. The school places great emphasis on teaching and educational reform, strengthening quality-oriented education, and focuses on cultivating practical and innovative abilities of students. In the past three years, students have won more than 200 national and provincial prizes in the National Students Mechanical Innovation Design Competition, “Challenge Cup”-- National Students Extracurricular Science and Technology Competition, “Creative Youth” National Students Entrepreneurship Competition, National Students Comprehensive Engineering Ability Competition, National Students Energy Conservation & Emission Reduction Competition, International Science Olympic Competition of Mechanical Principle and Advanced Graphic Skills & Innovation Competition. For more than 50 years, the school has cultivated nearly 10,000 graduates for the country. Among them, 2 people have become academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, and many alumni have become professors, experts, and skilful technicians or managers in enterprises.







XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图